Venice orientation


BEFORE YOU SET OFF.

The word I use most around here is worship.
I love the way they sing and sing and sing.
I love that they even wave their arms when they dance.
I love that they’re always happy, even when it’s not easy for them.
I love that they are generous.
I like that they are good hosts.


City visit report. In plain English! Not based on science.

.
Fact: Venice is the easiest place to get lost; but you’ve never had so much fun!
Just in case, plan an hour of involuntary wandering into your day.
If at the end of the day you haven’t used that time, no problem.
At the end of the day, it will be a refreshing experience to stand on any street corner, Prosecco in hand, and watch the locals sing.
Wherever you go, you can always pull a big wall of sound and some equipment out of your pocket.

.

IF YOU DON’T WANT TO GET LOST, JUST FOLLOW THE CROWDS!

.
In my experience, a paper map is useless as you can quickly lose your bearings between houses. Any map on any phone can be an effective antidote.
GPS positioning always knows where you are.
You don’t need any professional equipment, the phone’s default application is just right.
Before we set off, let’s mark these two destinations.
I would like to point out that you will never get a route that is longer than 30 minutes on foot.
.
Despite all this, I did not use a map myself.
I used the same method, repeated thousands of times:
Always head towards the highest density of people!
In the morning, everyone goes from P.L. Roma to San Marco – and back again in the afternoon.

.

Piazza le Roma & Ferrovia. 

They are two sides of the same bridge. Public transport hubs. Piazza le Roma is where the tram, all the buses and most of the vaporettos arrive. the ridge railway: a cable car that runs horizontally on top of the houses, bringing people in from the car parks, the international port and the bus terminal.
Crossing the glass bridge we find the Ferrovia, which essentially marks the railway station. From here, the Grand Canal, the main traffic channel, will take you to St. Mark’s.
.

GRAND CANAL OVER THE RIALTO AND THE ACADEMIA BRIDGE

.
Note that in my opinion the Rialto is not worth visiting on its own. Its true beauty is seen from a boat. On the other hand, if you have a free evening, you should get from San Marco to the Academia Bridge just before daylight.
Which, of course, makes for the perfect selfie.
.
End the day with cocktails and dancing in Santa Margherita.
The Italians who talk in song by day dance in karaoke by night.
Don’t hesitate to join in – meeting them will be an unforgettable experience.
.

SAN MARCO – THE MAIN TOURIST ATTRACTION.

Here you will find the Obelisk, St Mark’s Cathedral and the Doge’s Palace.
It is also another centre of water transport.
Very simply put, three main canals meet here:
One that leads to P. le Roma,
One that leads to P.le P.R., another that leads to the international ports (Trochento) and two that lead to the mainland – with the sea on the other side.
The city ends at the tip of a green island from where you can see the Lido.

.
Venice is beautiful.
Beautiful and uninhabitable. A huge tourist attraction. It is a Skansen.

STILL, THE ITALIANS ARE BEAUTIFUL; I LOVE THEM.

.
.
Oh, how life is: the sweetest Italian smile is no longer here and never will be. It seems forgotten.
I sincerely hope he has found his place. I wish him all the best!
.
One of our greatest fears is to be forgotten…
.
For me he is an eternal memory. I think I will dream about him for a long time 🙂